

Governing Board Minutes

September 7th, 2022 @ 6:30 pm in person

Attendance:

Voting members: Lisa MacDonell, David Patterson, Michael Barron, Natalie Laviolette, Randy Ryan, Jodi Esterson, Bryan Hamon, Melissa Ruiter, Jessica Davies, Tiffany Galen Gibson, Doug Bentley, Robyn Ghantous,

Non-voting members : Dean Graddon, Nancy Potvin, Christian Besner (alternate), Tyler Dixon (alternate)

Regrets/Absent: Denise Bergeron, Angela Berryman

Quorum: 50% of all members and at least 50% of the parent members. St. Patrick has 12 voting members; therefore 7 members are required to be present at the meeting with at least 3 being parents.

1. Call to order

The meeting is called to order at 6:32 pm.

2. Appointment of a secretary

Natalie Laviolette will act as secretary.

3. Territorial Acknowledgment

In accordance with LBPSB policy the following will be read at the beginning of all Governing Board Meetings.

Territorial Acknowledgement:

"In order to show our deep respect for the land on which our event takes place today, we would like to acknowledge that Lester B Pearson School Board is located on the unceded territory of the Kanien'keha:ka People. Lester B. Pearson School Board honours, recognizes, and respects the Kanien'keha:ka People as the traditional stewards of the lands and waters on which we meet today and recognizes that this land has long served as a site of meeting and exchange amongst nations.

We also acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past and commit to informing ourselves about this truth in order to move forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of collaboration and reconciliation."

4. Approval of the Agenda

The agenda is approved as is. The varia will remain open.



Motion approved by: Doug Bentley Motion second by: Randy Ryan All in favour

5. Election of Governing Board chairperson 2022-2023

Michael Barron motions to nominates Doug Bentley for the role of chairperson for 2022-2023 The nomination is seconded by Randy Ryan.

The motion is carried unanimously.

6. Election of Governing Board co-chairperson 2022-2023

Robyn Ghantous motions to nominate Randy Ryan for the role of co-chairperson for 2022-2023. The nomination is seconded by Bryan Hamon.

The motion is carried unanimously.

7. Terms of newly elected members from the AGA

Following the elections at the AGA meeting on August 31st, 2022, here are the GB members :

- Doug Bentley 2-year term
- Natalie Laviolette 2-year term
- Randy Ryan 2-year term
- Bryan Hamon 1-year term

Following the elections at the AGA meeting on August 31st, 2022, here are the alternate GB members :

- Tyler Dixon
- Christian Besner
- Nadia Roussy

8. Governing Board Internal Rules of Order 2022-2023

Motion to amend the Governing Board Internal Rules of Order as follows :

Virtual meetings may be scheduled at the discretion of the St. Patrick's Elementary Governing Board.

Motion approved by: Michael Barron Motion second by: Jodi Esterson All in favour

Meetings will be held virtually for the upcoming year, unless necessary to be in person.

Motion approved by: Jodi Esterson



Motion second by: Randy Ryan All in favour

9. Field Trips (see attached document below)

Motion to approve the following field trips and activities as per the details provided :

- 1. Terry fox run
- 2. LBPSB Ultimate Frisbee
- 3. LBPSB Handball Tournament

Motion approved by: Randy Ryan Motion second by: Tiffany Gibson All in favour

10. Schedule Changes

Previously discussed

11. Varia and question from the public

Home and school representative:

Natalie Laviolette agrees to act as the GB home and school representative. Randy Ryan and Bryan Hamon agree to act as alternates when required.

School picture day:

Pictures will be taken by Lifetouch on September 13th. 2022.

Questions from the public:

Q. Should we modify the rules of internal management to allow for the recording of meetings for the purpose of minute taking? Recordings would need to be deleted within 15 days.

A. There is a consensus at this time that this is not necessary.

12. Next meeting date

Next meeting is planned for Thursday, September 29th at 6:30 pm on Zoom

13. Adjournment

Motion to adjourn by Jodi Esterson Second by David Patterson All in favour

Meeting adjourned at 7:08 pm



Additional meeting documents

Field trip and activity information

